OSHA Standards for Construction and General Industry

The OSHA standards for Construction and General Industry are also known as:

A. Part 1926 and Part 1910
B. Part 1915 and Part 1917
C. Codes 501 through 1000
D. Construction and GI Registers


Correct Answer

A. Part 1926 and Part 1910

Answer Explanation

OSHA standards fall into four categories: (1) General Industry, (2) Construction, (3) Maritime, and (4) Agriculture.

OSHA standards appear in the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR). The OSHA standards are broken down into Parts. Part 1910 is known as the General Industry Standards. Some of the types of industries covered by the General Industry standards are manufacturing, the service sector, and health care. Part 1926 covers the Construction industry. Parts 1915, 1917 and 1918 are Maritime Industry standards.

Looking for answers to OSHA 10 quizzes and final exam?

Get your OSHA 10 Construction quizzes and final exam passed easily and quickly with OSHA10Answers™. Guaranteed.

Learn More

Difference Between OSHA Construction Industry and General Industry Standards

The OSHA standards are divided into four major categories based on the type of work being performed: agriculture (29 Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) Part 1928), construction (Part 1926), general industry (Part 1910) and maritime (Parts 1915, 1917 and 1918) employment.

General industry standards apply to any type of employment in any industry, including agriculture, construction, and maritime employment, to the extent that specific standards for these other industries do not apply. Specific industry standards, e.g. construction industry standards, take priority over general industry standards if they address identical hazards. Some standards impose similar requirements on all industry sectors, for example, personal protective equipment (PPE) and hazard communication.

How to Look Up OSHA Construction and General Industry Standards

General industry standards and construction industry standards are available on OSHA’s website. You can look them up by the standard number or do a search by topic.